A Proud Day

posted on #1
mpointon Supporter
For me, at least. This might be a bit of a long post and for that, I apologise.

Some of you may know from conversations we've had my father was a consummate pianist, composer, musician but also experimenter in the early days of electronic music. I am incredibly lucky to come from parents who lived and breathed music and they, of course, actively encouraged myself and my brother to also enjoy it which we both do. I just chose the noisiest instrument! I am a musician because of my parents. I am a musician because, when I was young, my father - realising my interest in the drums (I was a trumpeter at the time) - videoed Buddy Rich on the Parkinson show in 1980-something. I was hooked.

Anyway, my father has now been gone 9 years. Sadly he was gone long before he actually died due to his Alzheimer's, diagnosed in 1991 when I was only 18. By 2000, very little of my father remained, just a vague look of recognition in his eyes or a tiny smile. But it took until 2007 for it to finally kill him. But I digress as I'm not here to tell a sob story. Everyone has equally important and influential moments in their life.

But most of what I knew of my father's prolific output and the sheer scale of his musicianship has been second-hand - told to me by family friends or peers as anecdotes. Recently though, the British Library has accepted some of dad's compositions as music of historical or musical significance. From that the following has occurred and is now about to release: