Home » Forum » Hey there... »
New User Couple of questions

New User Couple of questions

posted on #1
Coho
I was looking and found some fantastic acoustic backing tracks, to sing and play harmonica with. I usually record some videos on youtube for friends and family back east. 1) they are cover songs (like Honeybee, Catfish blues... I got the impression that cover tunes are not allowed? Even if I change some lyrics and do my own thing with the harp? I would gladly mention whoever supplied the backing track. and promote wikiloops on my site. I'm not a pro
just an avid blues fan learning to sing and play:) also I've never been apt with navigating forums:)
Great site to practice on Thank you
+1
posted on #2
TeeGee Supporter
Welcome Coho, good to have you here. The rule on covers is quite simple: No covers whatsoever allowed here. Only original material... https://www.wikiloops.com/knowledge/why_are_cover_songs_not_allowed_on_wikiloops.php

We have so many cool blues type backing tracks here, no need for covers if you ask me.

Regarding lyrics, we also have a large number of original lyrics available in our "lyrics" section, why don't you use them? Much nicer than covers in my opinion :)
+2
the t.bone Ovid System CC 100
the t.bone Ovid System CC 100
Condenser Clip Microphone for Ovid System
49 €
iThis widget links to Thomann, our affiliate partner. We may receive a commission when you purchase a product there. Visit Shop
posted on #3
Coho
Thank you for the clarification. I'll certainly visit the lyrics section.
I'm a fan of the old blues turn of phrase, like "make your backbone slip"
or "cakewalk into town" and so many others;) Great site. Thank you
+1
posted on #4
TeeGee Supporter
I grew up on the old blues masters, still love it! you will find a lot of blues fans here, too
wikiloops online jamsessions are brought to you with friendly support by:
user profile image