Home » Forum » Musicians forum »
Finding musicians to jam with

Finding musicians to jam with

posted on #1
Zimmerframe
Hi all,

I am a beginner drummer and have been having weekly lessons for around 18 months. I got my first acoustic kit just before Christmas 2016. I am an older player at 62 but am loving what I am learning. Still very much a beginner though, I can hold a groove but am still learning techniques. I've joined Wikiloops primarily to look up drumless tracks to play along to.

My next step would be to find local like minded players to initially mess around with. How do you do this though? I have joined forums, (Joinmyband) that advertise for musicians but they tend to all want experienced players. How do you hook up with other musicians who may also just be starting out?

Cheers in anticipation :)
+4
posted on #2
eGiL Supporter
First of all: Welcome to Wikiloops! :)

To get involved and jamming with people here you would need some sort of recording gear, either a room recorder or preferably a drum mic set and a recording device. You will also need to get yourself some basic knowledge about using (recording and editing) a DAW (Digital Audio Workstation).

But a good start could be getting a room recorder, record a beat and upload it here, and i am sure you will get adds and help to develop your beats into some cool tracks :)

If you get stuck, or need some hints about the process use the shoutbox & forum to ask for a helping hand ;)

Good luck! :)
+2
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd NT1A Bundle
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd NT1A Bundle
Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording
299 €
iThis widget links to Thomann, our affiliate partner. We may receive a commission when you purchase a product there. Visit Shop
posted on #3
Dick Supporter
Hey Zimerframe & also welcome to the 'loops!