Home » Forum » Musicians forum »
Looking for pianists who would like to play "some" Boogie-Woogie

Looking for pianists who would like to play "some" Boogie-Woogie

posted on #1
HARK0D
Hi all,

Not a musician here, but an AI master student instead. I am currently doing my master project and I was hoping if we could help each other out.

To give you an idea what I am working on; it can be best described as a sort of dynamic low- and high-pass filter. The purpose of this system is to separate piano recordings by the playing hands. Simply put, an audio file of a piano recording comes in, two audio files come out. One contains the left hand performance, the other contains the right hand performance.
Considering that such a task (piano hand separation) has not been performed yet on raw audio, I wanted to keep it as feasible as possible by at first focusing on Boogie Woogie only. My assumption here is that Boogie Woogie would be the easiest genre to separate by playing hand due to the strong contrast between left- and right-hand performance that already exist.

The development of such systems does require data however, piano recordings in this case. I would need isolated recordings of left-hand and right-hand performance (playing Boogie Woogie). These are essential for evaluation purposes, but also for training a supervised Machine Learning approach (basically learning patterns from examples). As you might imagine however, such data does not exist. Therefore, a dataset has to be built.

This is where Wikiloops comes in!